A clear glass vial of deep bronze black seed oil on dark aged wood with scattered black cumin seeds

Black Seed Oil for Neuropathy: The One Human Trial, Read Closely

If you are searching black seed oil for neuropathy, the first thing worth saying is not about the oil. Numbness, burning or tingling in the feet or hands is a symptom that needs a clinician, and in diabetes it is a progressive complication where delay causes damage that does not come back. Nothing on this page is a reason to postpone that appointment. With that said, there is a real question underneath the search, and it deserves a real answer: exactly one human trial has studied Nigella sativa in diabetic peripheral neuropathy. It exists, it is published, and read closely it is far weaker than its own conclusion suggests. This article reads it closely.

For our own oil, see our cold-pressed Ethiopian black seed oil.


The Short Answer

  • Numbness, burning or tingling needs assessment by a doctor. In diabetes, peripheral neuropathy is progressive, and delayed care leads to permanent nerve damage and foot complications. This is not a symptom to manage with a food.
  • There is one human trial: Khodaie SA, Nikkhah H, Namiranian N and colleagues, "Topical Nigella sativa L. product: a new candidate for the management of diabetic peripheral neuropathy", Inflammopharmacology 2024;32(1):551–559 (PMID 37957516). 120 patients, three groups.
  • Its outcome measure was the Michigan Neuropathy Screening Instrument questionnaire — patients' answers about their own symptoms. No nerve conduction study, no objective measure of nerve function.
  • On the one item closest to actual sensory function — telling hot water from cold — the three groups did not differ.
  • The comparison arm took an oral capsule while the test arm used a topical ointment, and by the paper's own account blinding was applied only to the ointment and placebo groups. That makes the comparison uninterpretable.
  • The product tested was a topical ointment formulation, not a retail bottle of edible black seed oil. Nothing here transfers to swallowing a spoonful.
  • Animal studies reporting improved nerve conduction do not transfer to people, and nothing in this literature shows nerve repair or regeneration in humans.
  • Sidr & Stone publishes an independently verified 2.67% thymoquinone figure, tested per batch by Analytice, an ISO-accredited French laboratory. That is a statement about the oil, not about your nerves.

What "Neuropathy" Actually Covers

The word does a lot of work, and the differences matter for what any evidence could possibly apply to. Peripheral neuropathy is damage to the nerves outside the brain and spinal cord, and it has many distinct causes with different courses and different treatments.

Type Typical cause Any Nigella sativa human trial?
Diabetic peripheral neuropathy Long-term raised blood glucose damaging small nerve fibres One (Khodaie et al., 2024) — details below
Chemotherapy-induced peripheral neuropathy Neurotoxic cancer treatment None
Compression neuropathy, e.g. carpal tunnel or sciatic nerve root compression Mechanical pressure on a nerve None
Nutritional neuropathy, e.g. B12 deficiency Deficiency of a specific nutrient None — and this one has an actual treatment, which is why diagnosis matters
Alcohol-related, autoimmune, infectious and idiopathic neuropathies Various None

That last row of the middle column is the point to hold onto. Some neuropathies have a specific, correctable cause. Identifying which one you have is a clinical job, and it is the single most valuable thing that can happen to this symptom.

Five dried Nigella sativa seed pods arranged in a row on pale grey paper with loose seeds


The One Trial, In Detail

Khodaie et al. published in Inflammopharmacology in February 2024, indexed by PubMed as a randomised controlled trial. It enrolled 120 patients with neuropathy and divided them into three groups: one applied a topical Nigella sativa ointment, one applied a topical placebo, and one took 300 mg gabapentin capsules. Neuropathy was assessed with the Michigan Neuropathy Screening Instrument (MNSI) before the study, and symptoms were evaluated afterwards using the MNSI questionnaire.

The reported results were consistent and, on their face, striking. The ointment group differed significantly from the other two groups on numbness in the legs and feet (p = 0.001), burning pain (p = 0.001), muscle cramps (p = 0.001), prickling sensations (p = 0.001), skin sensitivity to bedclothes (p = 0.005), symptoms worsening at night (p = 0.001) and discomfort when walking (p = 0.032). The authors concluded that topical Nigella sativa "has acceptable improving effects".

Now the design, feature by feature.

Feature What the paper reports Why it matters
Sample 120 patients, split across three arms Roughly 40 per group — small for a symptom outcome with wide natural variation
Blinding "The blindness was done in first and second groups" Only the ointment and placebo arms were blinded. The comparison arm was not, so patients in it knew what they were taking, and expectation alone can move a symptom questionnaire
Comparison arm A 300 mg oral capsule versus a topical ointment Different routes and different formats. A rub-on preparation and a swallowed capsule cannot be fairly compared on subjective symptom scores without matched dummies of both, which are not described
Outcome measure The MNSI questionnaire Entirely patient-reported. The MNSI was designed as a screening tool to identify who might have neuropathy, not as a validated instrument for measuring response to treatment
Objective measures None reported No nerve conduction study, no quantitative sensory testing, no monofilament examination reported in the abstract — nothing that measures a nerve rather than an opinion about a nerve
The one quasi-objective item Distinguishing hot water from cold: no statistical difference between the three groups The item least susceptible to expectation is the item that showed nothing. That is the wrong pattern for a real sensory effect
Treatment period Not stated in the published abstract Without a duration, the result cannot be placed in any clinical context
The product A topical Nigella sativa ointment developed from Persian medicinal sources Not a retail bottle of edible black seed oil. The formulation and its thymoquinone content are not something a shopper can reproduce

Put together: an unblinded active comparison, a self-reported outcome, and a null result on the one item that is not self-reported. That is a pattern consistent with expectation effects, and it is why we would not describe this trial as showing what its conclusion claims. The same first author published a narrative review the same year (Khodaie SA, Razavi R, Nikkhah H and colleagues, Inflammopharmacology 2024;32(5):2897–2920, PMID 39143432) — a review of the same territory by the same group, not independent replication.

A necessary word about the comparison arm. That the trial used a prescribed medicine as its comparator is a fact about the trial's design, and we report it only for that reason. It is not a suggestion, in any direction, about anyone's medication. Decisions about prescribed treatment belong to you and your prescriber, and nothing in a single unblinded trial of an ointment is a reason to change them.

A stack of plain closed journals with reading glasses and a brass dish of black cumin seeds


What Was and Was Not Measured

Outcome Type Result
Numbness, burning, cramps, prickling, night-time symptoms, walking discomfort Patient-reported questionnaire items Statistically significant differences favouring the ointment group
Hot versus cold water discrimination Sensory task, closer to objective No significant difference between groups
Nerve conduction velocity Objective neurophysiology Not measured
Quantitative sensory testing or monofilament examination Objective sensory assessment Not reported
Blood glucose or HbA1c change Underlying driver of diabetic neuropathy Not reported as an outcome
Nerve repair or regeneration Structural Not measured, and not claimed by the authors
Longer-term outcomes such as ulceration or amputation risk What actually matters clinically Not measured

The bottom four rows are the ones to notice. Whatever the questionnaire showed, nothing in this trial touches nerve structure, nerve function, or the outcomes that make diabetic neuropathy serious.


Why the Animal Studies Do Not Carry Over

Search this topic and you will meet rodent studies reporting improved nerve conduction velocity and reduced pain behaviour with thymoquinone. They are real studies, and they are the reason anyone thought to run a human trial at all. They are also not evidence about people.

Rodent models of neuropathy are induced deliberately, over weeks, in young healthy animals with controlled diets — not accumulated over fifteen years in a person with diabetes, hypertension and several medicines. Doses are given by body weight and often by injection, bypassing the absorption problem entirely; thymoquinone has low oral bioavailability and is rapidly eliminated. And nerve conduction velocity in an anaesthetised rat is not the same measurement as a person's experience of their feet.

The broader evidence picture is worth stating plainly, because it is the context every individual finding sits in. Li Z and colleagues, in Frontiers in Nutrition 2023;10:1107750 (PMID 37057067), reviewed the systematic reviews and meta-analyses of Nigella sativa across the health literature and graded the certainty of evidence as very low for 88 of 110 outcomes. Hallajzadeh J and colleagues, pooling 50 randomised trials in Phytotherapy Research 2020;34(10):2586–2608 (PMID 32394508), found no significant effect on CRP, TNF-α, total antioxidant capacity or MDA.

Three glass laboratory flasks holding deep bronze black seed oil beside scattered black cumin seeds


The Medication Question, Because It Matters More Here

People with neuropathy are frequently taking several medicines at once. That makes one piece of laboratory work more relevant to this audience than to most.

Thymoquinone has been shown to inhibit CYP2C9 — the enzyme responsible for clearing warfarin — in in vitro conditions (PMID 35921950). That is a theoretical prediction from a laboratory system, not an interaction demonstrated in a human being, and we would not want it reported as more than it is. But it is exactly the sort of signal worth mentioning to a pharmacist before adding anything to an established regimen. Our article on black seed oil side effects and safety sets out the fuller picture, and our dosage guide explains why "how much" is a harder question than it looks.


Three Objections Worth Taking Seriously

"You are dismissing a randomised controlled trial." We are not dismissing it — we are reading it. It is a real RCT and we have named it, cited it in full and reported its p-values as published. Reading a trial means examining its design, and a trial whose significant results are all self-reported while its one non-self-reported result is null has told you something about itself. If a blinded trial with nerve conduction endpoints is run, that will be a different conversation.

"The improvements were significant, so something happened." Something did happen — the ointment group reported feeling better than the group who knew they were on a capsule and the group on a placebo cream. In an unblinded active comparison with subjective endpoints, that is precisely what an expectation effect looks like. Statistical significance measures whether a difference is likely to be chance, not whether it was caused by the ingredient.

"So why sell black seed oil at all?" Because it is a food with a long tradition and a genuinely interesting research literature, and because if someone is going to use it, they are better off with a bottle whose contents have been measured. Khaikin E and colleagues, in Nutrients 2022;14(17):3501 (PMID 36079759), measured thymoquinone across eleven commercial products and found a spread of more than 260-fold — 3.08 to 809.4 mg per 100 g. Verification is the claim we make. It is not a claim about nerves.

A wooden rack of four small glass vials, two filled with deep bronze oil and two empty


Why Sidr & Stone

We cannot honestly offer you anything about neuropathy. What we can offer is the one thing a brand in this category can actually be held to: knowing, measuring and publishing what is in the bottle.

  • Independently verified 2.67% thymoquinone, tested per batch
  • Tested by Analytice, an ISO-accredited French laboratory
  • Organically grown Ethiopian highland Nigella sativa — chosen after a 36-supplier evaluation
Sidr & Stone independent lab certificate from Analytice showing 2.67% thymoquinone in cold-pressed Nigella sativa oil, HPLC-UV tested
Independent lab test confirming Sidr & Stone black seed oil at 2.67% verified thymoquinone (Analytice, HPLC-UV). View our full Quality Assurance page.
  • Cold-pressed below 40°C to protect the heat-sensitive thymoquinone
  • 100% pure — single ingredient, nothing added
  • Unrefined, which preserves the oil's natural integrity
  • Bottled in matte black UV-protective glass
  • Halal certified
  • 10% of profits to charity
  • Fulfilment in the UK, EU, and US

We will not tell you Sidr & Stone is the strongest or the best — that is the register this whole article argues against. What we will say is that our thymoquinone figure is 2.67%, independently verified per batch, and the certificate is published for anyone to check.

Sidr and Stone black seed oil bottle on dark grey stone beside a dish of deep bronze oil


Frequently Asked Questions

Does black seed oil help neuropathy?

One human trial has studied a topical Nigella sativa ointment in diabetic neuropathy, and its significant results were all patient-reported while its one objective item showed no difference. That is not a basis for saying it helps. Black seed oil is a food supplement, not a treatment for nerve damage, and neuropathy symptoms need medical assessment.

What is the study everyone refers to?

Khodaie SA, Nikkhah H, Namiranian N and colleagues, "Topical Nigella sativa L. product: a new candidate for the management of diabetic peripheral neuropathy", Inflammopharmacology 2024;32(1):551–559, PMID 37957516. 120 patients across three groups, assessed with the Michigan Neuropathy Screening Instrument questionnaire.

Does it repair nerves?

No study has shown nerve repair or regeneration in humans, and the trial above did not measure nerve structure or function at all. Animal nerve-conduction findings do not transfer to people.

Is there any trial in chemotherapy-induced or compression neuropathy?

No. The single human trial is in diabetic peripheral neuropathy. There is nothing in chemotherapy-induced neuropathy, sciatica, carpal tunnel or nutritional neuropathies.

Can I use black seed oil alongside my medication?

That is a question for your pharmacist or prescriber, particularly if you take several medicines. Thymoquinone inhibits CYP2C9, the enzyme that clears warfarin, in laboratory conditions (PMID 35921950) — a theoretical prediction rather than a demonstrated human interaction, but a good reason to ask.

Why do so many pages say it works?

Mostly by treating rodent studies as though they were human results, and by repeating the single trial's conclusion without reading its design. Our article on black seed oil and inflammation covers the same gap between mechanism and outcome, as does our piece on black seed oil and joint pain.

How do I judge a black seed oil worth buying, whatever I want it for?

Look for a measured thymoquinone figure tied to a batch and an independent laboratory, a single-ingredient contents list, cold-pressing and dark glass. Our guide to a high-quality black seed oil works through each of those in turn.

Is black seed oil a medicine?

No. Black seed oil is a food supplement, not a medicine. It has a long traditional history and an interesting body of research around thymoquinone, and can be a worthwhile part of a healthy routine — but it does not cure diseases and is not a substitute for medical care. Be cautious of any black seed oil marketed with specific disease-cure claims.


Final Thoughts

There is a version of this article that reports "a randomised controlled trial found significant improvements in numbness, burning and night pain" and stops there. Every word of that sentence would be accurate. It would also be misleading, because the trial's significant findings were opinions about symptoms collected in a design that could not separate the ointment from the expectation of it — and the one measurement that did not depend on opinion found nothing.

Neuropathy is the wrong condition to be relaxed about. It is progressive, the window for protecting nerve function is finite, and some causes of it are correctable if they are identified. Whatever else you do, get the symptom looked at.

Our cold-pressed Ethiopian black seed oil — independently verified at 2.67% thymoquinone — is available now, with fulfilment in the UK, EU, and US.

Sidr and Stone black seed oil bottle on a wooden table beside a bowl of black cumin seeds

Shop Sidr & Stone Cold-Pressed Ethiopian Black Seed Oil — Verified 2.67% Thymoquinone →


Disclaimer: This article describes published research as it stood at the time of writing; research findings may change, and readers should check current sources. Black seed oil is a food supplement, not a medicine, and is not a substitute for medical treatment of any condition. Numbness, burning or tingling in the hands or feet should be assessed by a qualified medical professional, and nothing here is a reason to alter prescribed treatment.

Back to blog