Rows of unbranded amber and white supplement bottles with blank labels on bright pharmacy shelving

Black Seed Oil at Walgreens: What the Own-Brand Label Tells You

Searching for black seed oil at Walgreens is a reasonable place to start, and the honest answer is yes — Walgreens does stock it. What it stocks is narrower than the search results suggest. At the time of writing, a search of walgreens.com for "black seed oil" returns thirty-eight products, and exactly one of them is a black seed oil supplement: Walgreens' own brand, sold as a cold-pressed softgel under its Free & Pure line. The rest are castor oils, fish oils, flaxseed oils, shampoos and snacks that happen to share a word with the query. That single listing is worth reading closely, because it answers several questions well and is silent on the one that decides whether a black seed oil is worth taking at all.

For our own oil, see our cold-pressed Ethiopian black seed oil.


The Short Answer

  • Yes — Walgreens sells black seed oil. At the time of writing it is one own-brand product: Walgreens Free & Pure Cold Pressed Black Seed Oil 2,000 mg Softgels, 60 count, listed under Vitamins & Supplements, in Superfoods & Antioxidants.
  • The listing is unusually clear on several points: cold-pressed extraction, hexane free, gluten free, non-GMO, a gelatin and vegetable glycerin softgel shell, and a UL verified dietary ingredients reference.
  • It states no thymoquinone figure, and no independent Certificate of Analysis is published alongside it. That absence is worth noting plainly rather than reading anything into it.
  • "2,000 mg" describes how much oil is in a two-softgel serving. It is a quantity of oil, not a measure of the compound most black seed oil research concerns itself with.
  • The listing states where the product was made; it does not state where the seed was grown. For black seed oil, seed origin is the more informative of the two.
  • Sidr & Stone's black seed oil is independently verified at 2.67% thymoquinone per batch by Analytice, an ISO-accredited French laboratory, with a Certificate of Analysis you can read before you buy.

Does Walgreens Sell Black Seed Oil? Yes — One Own-Brand Softgel

Yes. Walgreens sells black seed oil, but the range is narrow: at the time of writing, its own-brand Free & Pure Cold Pressed Black Seed Oil 2,000 mg Softgels is the only black seed oil supplement listed on walgreens.com. It sits in Vitamins & Supplements, under Superfoods & Antioxidants.

That is a meaningfully different situation from a supermarket, which usually stocks none at all, and from a specialist supplement chain, which usually stocks several competing brands. At Walgreens the category is present but singular — one formulation, one format, one brand, and that brand is Walgreens itself. Availability is store-by-store rather than guaranteed, and the listing notes that stock varies.

So the useful question is not whether you can buy black seed oil at Walgreens. You can. The useful question is what the one listing tells you about the oil inside.

Neat row of identical unbranded white tubs and dark amber bottles with blank labels on pharmacy shelf


What the Walgreens Listing Actually States

We read the listing properly for this article — including the collapsed Ingredients and Nutrition Facts panels, which is where most of the substance lives. It is more forthcoming than a lot of supplement pages, and it deserves credit for that. Here is the whole of it, set out plainly.

What the listing covers What it says
Product Walgreens Free & Pure Cold Pressed Black Seed Oil 2,000 mg Softgels, 60 count
Category Vitamins & Supplements → Superfoods & Antioxidants → All Other Superfoods
Extraction Cold pressed; hexane free
Suggested use Two softgels daily, preferably with a meal; 30 servings per container
Softgel shell Gelatin and vegetable glycerin
Nutrition panel 2 g total fat and 20 calories per two-softgel serving; typical fatty acid profile lists omega-6 (linoleic acid) and omega-9 (oleic acid)
Free-from attributes Gluten free, non-GMO, no artificial flavours, no synthetic colours; no yeast, wheat, soy, dairy, fish or lactose
Third-party mark UL verified dietary ingredients reference (V907999)
Seed origin Not stated; country of manufacture given as China
Thymoquinone content Not stated
Per-batch Certificate of Analysis Not published with the listing

The listing also carries a short structure-and-function statement with the standard notice that the product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. We would not echo health-outcome language from any supplement listing, our own included, and we would gently encourage caution around black seed oil marketed with specific health claims.

Amber oil-filled softgel capsules spilling from an open unbranded dark glass bottle onto pale stone


Why 2,000 mg Is a Quantity, Not a Potency

The number on the front of the bottle is the one most shoppers read as a strength figure, and it is not one. Two softgels supply 2,000 mg of black seed oil, and the listing's own nutrition panel is consistent with that — 2 g of total fat per serving. It tells you how much oil you are swallowing. It tells you nothing about what is dissolved in the oil.

Composition is what varies. Thymoquinone, the compound most of the published research concerns itself with, occurs at different concentrations depending on the seed's origin and chemotype and on how gently the oil was pressed, because thymoquinone is both heat-sensitive and light-sensitive. Two bottles that both say "2,000 mg, cold pressed" can differ several-fold in thymoquinone, and neither label would tell you. Our explainer on thymoquinone in black seed oil covers why concentration, rather than presence, is what makes the figure mean anything.

Sidr & Stone's black seed oil is independently verified at 2.67% thymoquinone per batch by Analytice, an ISO-accredited French laboratory, and the Certificate of Analysis is published on our site. That is a different category of claim from a milligram count — one is a measured result, the other is a fill weight.

Brand Form Thymoquinone stated? Independent lab named? Per-batch certificate published?
Walgreens Free & Pure Softgels, 2,000 mg per two-softgel serving Not stated Not stated Not published
Sidr & Stone (not sold at Walgreens — direct only) Liquid oil, 100ml Yes — 2.67% Analytice, ISO-accredited Yes, per batch

Laboratory flask of deep bronze black seed oil beside a pipette and clear analytical vials on pale bench


Why a Pharmacy Chain's Range Looks Like This

None of this is a failing on Walgreens' part. A pharmacy chain with thousands of stores buys for breadth rather than depth, and the job of an own-brand supplement line is to make a familiar category reliably available at consistent quality in every store — a genuinely useful thing to do. Free & Pure is built around free-from attributes, because those are the attributes shoppers across a whole country actually ask about.

Small-batch, single-origin oils with per-batch laboratory testing do not fit that model. Testing every batch and publishing the certificate makes sense for a producer selling one oil and very little sense for a retailer stocking hundreds of lines. So the specialist end of the category tends to sit outside mainstream retail — the same pattern we found looking at black seed oil at The Vitamin Shoppe and at iHerb's black seed oil listings, in a specialist chain and a marketplace respectively.

Credit where it is due: the Free & Pure listing carries a UL verified dietary ingredients reference, which a great many supplement listings do not. That is a real third-party element and a point in its favour. It is simply not a thymoquinone measurement, and it was never meant to be.

One more distinction worth drawing. The listing states the country of manufacture; it does not state where the seed was grown. Those are different facts, and for a plant oil whose active compound varies by growing region and chemotype, the second is the more informative one.

Heap of matte black Nigella sativa seeds beside a wooden press and stone dish of deep amber oil


The Objections Worth Taking Seriously

Three reasonable objections to the argument above, answered honestly.

"It's a regulated pharmacy chain — surely that covers quality." It covers a great deal: manufacturing standards, labelling law, and the free-from attributes the brand commits to. What US supplement regulation does not do is require, or pre-approve, a potency figure for a plant compound such as thymoquinone. The absence of a figure is normal across the whole category and is not a mark against the retailer.

"Does thymoquinone really matter, or is it just a marketing metric?" Honestly, it is the best available proxy rather than a guarantee of anything. Thymoquinone is what most of the research on black seed oil has studied, and it is the one compositional variable that can actually be measured and published. It does not promise a health outcome — and we would be wary of anyone who claims it does.

"Convenience is worth something." It is, and we will not pretend otherwise. Same-day pickup, an easy return and a familiar checkout are real advantages that no direct producer can match. The only question is whether they are worth more than knowing what is in the bottle. For a commodity supplement, usually yes. For a specialist oil whose active compound varies widely between bottles, we would argue not. Our honest buyer's guide to black seed oil in the USA and our fuller guide to choosing a quality black seed oil set out the checks in full.


Why Sidr & Stone

We sell direct rather than through pharmacy shelves for one reason: it lets us tie a specific certificate to a specific batch and publish it where anyone can read it. The seed itself came out of a 36-supplier evaluation that consistently returned the highest thymoquinone from highland-grown Ethiopian seed — a slow piece of work, and the reason the rest of these specifics exist.

  • Sidr & Stone's black seed oil contains 2.67% thymoquinone, independently verified per batch
  • Tested by Analytice, an ISO-accredited French laboratory, with a Certificate of Analysis you can actually see
Sidr & Stone independent lab certificate from Analytice showing 2.67% thymoquinone in cold-pressed Nigella sativa oil
Independent lab test confirming Sidr & Stone black seed oil at 2.67% verified thymoquinone (Analytice, HPLC-UV). View our full Quality Assurance page.
  • Organically grown Ethiopian highland Nigella sativa, chosen after a 36-supplier evaluation
  • Cold-pressed below 40°C to protect the heat-sensitive thymoquinone
  • 100% pure — a single ingredient, nothing added
  • Unrefined and unfiltered — natural fine sediment is normal
  • Bottled in matte black UV-protective glass, because thymoquinone is light-sensitive
  • Halal certified
  • 10% of profits to charity
  • Fulfilment in the UK, EU, and US

We will not tell you Sidr & Stone is the strongest or the best black seed oil you can buy — that is precisely the unverifiable claim this article asks you to be sceptical of. What we will say is that our thymoquinone figure is 2.67%, independently verified per batch, and the certificate is there to read before you spend anything.

Sidr & Stone black seed oil bottle beside a laboratory flask of deep amber oil on pale stone


Frequently Asked Questions

Does Walgreens sell black seed oil?

Yes. At the time of writing, Walgreens lists one black seed oil supplement: its own-brand Walgreens Free & Pure Cold Pressed Black Seed Oil 2,000 mg Softgels, 60 count, under Vitamins & Supplements in Superfoods & Antioxidants. Availability varies by store.

Is the Walgreens black seed oil cold-pressed?

The listing describes it as cold pressed and hexane free, which are both useful things to state. It does not give a pressing temperature, and a "cold-pressed" description on any label is a process claim rather than a measurement of what survived the process.

Does the Walgreens listing state a thymoquinone content?

No. The listing gives a milligram amount, a nutrition panel and a fatty acid profile, but no thymoquinone percentage, and no independent Certificate of Analysis is published with it. Stated neutrally: the number simply is not there to check.

What does 2,000 mg mean on a black seed oil label?

It is the weight of oil in a serving — in this case two softgels — not a measure of active compound. A larger milligram figure means more oil, not a more concentrated one. Thymoquinone percentage is the figure that describes concentration.

How is Sidr & Stone's black seed oil different from a pharmacy own-brand one?

Ours is a liquid, single-origin, unrefined oil with a thymoquinone figure of 2.67% independently verified per batch by Analytice, an ISO-accredited French laboratory, with the certificate published. Pharmacy own-brand lines are built for breadth and consistency rather than per-batch verification.

Does Walgreens sell liquid black seed oil?

Not at the time of writing. The black seed oil in its range is the own-brand softgel; the other oils returned by a black seed oil search are castor, fish, flaxseed and cosmetic oils. If you want a liquid oil you will generally be looking elsewhere.

Where can I buy black seed oil with a verified thymoquinone figure?

Usually direct from a producer that publishes its own laboratory testing, since per-batch certification is rarely part of a retail range. Sidr & Stone's cold-pressed Ethiopian black seed oil is available from our website, with fulfilment in the UK, EU, and US.

Is black seed oil a medicine?

No. Black seed oil is a food supplement, not a medicine. It has a long traditional history and an interesting body of research around thymoquinone, and can be a worthwhile part of a healthy routine — but it does not cure diseases and is not a substitute for medical care. Be cautious of any black seed oil marketed with specific disease-cure claims.


Final Thoughts

Walgreens is a perfectly sensible place to encounter black seed oil, and its own-brand listing is more informative than many. It tells you the extraction method, the free-from attributes, the softgel shell, the serving size, the fatty acid profile, and it carries a third-party ingredient verification mark. For a mainstream retail listing, that is a decent showing.

What it cannot tell you is the one thing that varies most between black seed oils. Thymoquinone is not on the label, no laboratory is named, and no per-batch certificate accompanies the product. That is normal for the category and is no criticism of the retailer — but it does mean the shelf can answer every question except the decisive one.

So read the listing for what it is good at, then ask the question it was never built to answer: how much thymoquinone is in this oil, who measured it, and was this batch tested? A brand that publishes a figure is telling you more than one that does not. A brand that publishes a per-batch certificate is telling you most of all.

Our cold-pressed Ethiopian black seed oil — independently verified at 2.67% thymoquinone — is available now, with fulfilment in the UK, EU, and US.

Sidr & Stone black seed oil bottle beside a plain kraft parcel and scattered black seeds on wood

Shop Sidr & Stone Cold-Pressed Ethiopian Black Seed Oil — Verified 2.67% Thymoquinone →


Disclaimer: This article describes Walgreens' published black seed oil listing and general retail observations at the time of writing; retailer ranges, listings and product specifications change, and readers should check current sources. References to Walgreens describe general retail observations and are not affiliated with or endorsed by Walgreens. Comparisons are made in good faith and in fair terms. Black seed oil is a food supplement, not a medicine, and is not a substitute for medical treatment of any condition. For any health concern, consult a qualified medical professional.

Back to blog