Foenum Graecum: The Latin Behind Fenugreek, and Where the Name Comes From
By Yusuf Elsayed, Founder of Sidr & Stone · Last updated 12 September 2026Share
If you have met the words foenum graecum on an ingredient list, a pharmacy label or a cosmetic pack, you have met half of a botanical name. The full name is Trigonella foenum-graecum L., and the plant is fenugreek — the seed sold across South Asia and the Middle East as methi dana, and the leaf sold as methi. The Latin translates, unglamorously, as “Greek hay”. What makes the fragment worth an article is that it turns up in at least four different written forms depending on who is writing it, and each form is governed by a different authority. This piece sets out which is which, what is actually in the seed, and what the published evidence has and has not measured.
Sidr & Stone does not sell fenugreek in any form. For our own product, a single cold-pressed Nigella sativa oil, see our cold-pressed Ethiopian black seed oil.
The Short Answer
- Foenum graecum is the species epithet of Trigonella foenum-graecum L. — fenugreek. Kew’s Plants of the World Online lists it as an accepted species in the family Fabaceae, order Fabales, published by Linnaeus in Species Plantarum in 1753.
- The Latin means “Greek hay”. Kew gives the native range as Iraq to northern Pakistan, and describes the plant as a temperate annual.
- Foenum-graecum was once a genus name in its own right. Kew still lists Foenum-graecum officinale Moench and Foenum-graecum sativum Medik. among the homotypic synonyms.
- It does appear in a pharmacopoeial register, but in a different spelling. The European Pharmacopoeia monograph is titled Trigonellae foenugraeci semen — one word, no hyphen, in the genitive.
- Seed and leaf are the same plant. Fenugreek seed is methi dana; fresh fenugreek leaf is methi. “Kasuri methi” is contested — most retail product is dried leaf of this species, but Indian agronomy applies the name to a second crop.
- The EU herbal monograph registers fenugreek seed on traditional use only, for temporary loss of appetite and for the symptomatic treatment of minor skin inflammation. The well-established-use column of that monograph is empty.
- There is no authorised health claim for fenugreek in Great Britain. The single fenugreek entry in the GB register is a rejected one.
- Fenugreek is a legume, and the EU monograph contraindicates it in people hypersensitive to peanut, soya or other Fabaceae. It can also give sweat and urine a maple-syrup smell.
Foenum Graecum: What the Name Actually Means
Foenum graecum is not a plant name on its own. It is the species epithet of Trigonella foenum-graecum L., the accepted name for fenugreek in Kew’s Plants of the World Online, in the pea and bean family Fabaceae. Foenum is Latin for hay and graecum for Greek: Greek hay. Linnaeus published the name in Species Plantarum in 1753, and it has been the accepted binomial ever since.
The genus name is worth a second of attention too. Trigonella means “little triangle”, after the shape the flower makes. So the full name says, roughly, “the little-triangle plant that is Greek hay” — a description of a fodder legume, which is what it originally was, long before it became a spice.

The Name Forms You Will Meet, and Who Defines Each One
The practical confusion is not what the Latin means. It is that the same plant is written four or five different ways depending on which industry produced the document in front of you, and the differences are not typos. Each form belongs to a different register with a different authority behind it.
| Form you will see | Where it appears | Who defines it |
|---|---|---|
| Trigonella foenum-graecum L. | Botanical literature, seed catalogues, food ingredient declarations | Kew and IPNI; published Sp. Pl. 777 (1753) |
| Trigonellae foenugraeci semen | European Pharmacopoeia; the EMA herbal monograph title | Ph. Eur. monograph 01/2008:1323 |
| TRIGONELLA FOENUM-GRAECUM SEED EXTRACT | Cosmetic ingredient lists | The INCI naming system |
| Foenum-graecum officinale Moench | Older botanical works | A synonym Kew still records |
| Fenugreek, methi, methi dana | Food labels, recipes, market stalls | Common usage — nobody |
Note the second row. The pharmacopoeial name spells the epithet foenugraeci — one word, no hyphen, put into the genitive because it is describing a drug substance rather than naming a plant. The botanical name spells it foenum-graecum, hyphenated. Both are correct in their own register, and a search that assumes one spelling will simply miss documents written in the other.

Foenum-graecum Was Once a Genus in Its Own Right
There is a reason the fragment reads like a complete name: for a while, it was one. Eighteenth- and nineteenth-century botanists placed the plant in a genus called Foenum-graecum. Kew’s record for the accepted species still lists Foenum-graecum officinale Moench and Foenum-graecum sativum Medik. among its homotypic synonyms, along with several varieties published under Alefeld and a further name, Fenugraecum officinale Czechov.
The species has been shuffled through other genera too. Kew records Buceras foenum-graecum (L.) All., Telis foenum-graecum (L.) Kuntze and even Medicago foenugraeca (L.) E.H.L.Krause, all pointing back to the same type. In total the record carries more than twenty synonyms, including three subspecies — culta, indica and jemenensis — that Kew treats as heterotypic synonyms rather than accepted taxa.
None of that changes what is in the bag. It does explain why the fragment circulates on its own, and why old herbals and modern homeopathic listings can print “Foenum graecum” without a genus in front of it and not be wrong by the standards of their own period.
Seed, Leaf and Kasuri Methi: One Plant, Several Products
Fenugreek is sold in at least three forms and they are not interchangeable in the kitchen. The seed — methi dana — is the hard, angular, golden-brown grain with a distinct groove down one face. The fresh leaf, methi, is a green vegetable. Both are Trigonella foenum-graecum: the European Pharmacopoeia, the USP and the USDA nutrient database all define fenugreek seed as the dried ripe seed of that species.
“Kasuri methi”, the dried leaf sold in packets for finishing curries, is where honesty requires a caveat. Most retail kasuri methi is dried leaf of T. foenum-graecum. But a substantial Indian horticultural literature treats kasuri methi as a distinct crop, Trigonella corniculata — a chromosome-scale genome for it was published in Scientific Data in 2025 under exactly that name. Kew does not accept T. corniculata as a species; its record makes it a synonym of Trigonella balansae. So the answer is that the trade name and the botanical registers disagree, and anyone needing certainty should read the ingredient declaration rather than the front of the packet.
On composition, the published figures also disagree, and it is worth saying so rather than averaging them into a false precision. The EMA assessment report, drawing on WHO and ESCOP sources, gives the seed as roughly 25–45% galactomannan mucilage, about 30% protein, about 7% fixed oil, 48% total dietary fibre, trigonelline up to 0.37%, and steroidal saponins at 0.6–1.7% derived from diosgenin, yamogenin and tigogenin. The USDA nutrient database, for the same commodity, gives 23.0 g protein, 6.41 g fat and 24.6 g total dietary fibre per 100 g. The protein and fat figures are close; the fibre figures are not, almost certainly because the two are counting the mucilage differently. Neither is wrong; they are answering slightly different questions.

What the Research Has Actually Measured
Fenugreek attracts a great deal of claim-making. What follows is a summary of what pooled analyses have measured, with the heterogeneity and the certainty rating alongside each figure, because a pooled number without those two things beside it is not interpretable. Nothing in this section is a statement that fenugreek does anything for anybody, and none of it should be used to make a decision about a medicine or a health condition. That is a conversation for a GP or a pharmacist.
| Review | What was pooled | Effect estimate (95% CI) | I² | GRADE certainty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vajdi et al., Heliyon 2024 (PMID 39286181) | 19 studies, 1,612 participants; fasting plasma glucose | −20.32 mg/dL (−26.65 to −13.99) | 94.3% | Moderate, downgraded for publication bias |
| Vajdi et al., 2024 (same review) | HbA1c | −0.54% (−0.80 to −0.28) | 88.2% | Moderate |
| Chehregosha et al., Avicenna J Phytomed 2025 (PMID 41509111) | 26 RCTs, 1,625; fasting blood glucose | −16.75 mg/dL (−23.36 to −10.15) | 99.4% | Not assessed |
| Shabil et al., Medicina 2023 (PMID 36837450) | 14 trials, 894; fasting blood glucose | −3.70 mg/dL (−27.02 to 19.62), p = 0.76 | 99.4% | Not assessed |
| Foong et al., Cochrane Database Syst Rev 2020 (PMID 32421208) | 41 RCTs, 3,005 mothers; breast-milk volume | Pooling was not possible | 99% | Very low |
| Isenmann et al., Int J Sports Med 2023 (PMID 37253363) | 7 studies, 449 participants; total testosterone | SMD 0.32 (0.09 to 0.55) | Not reported | Not assessed |
| Isenmann et al., 2023 (same review) | Lean body mass | SMD 0.19 (−0.10 to 0.49) | Not reported | Not assessed |
Several things in that table deserve saying out loud. Of the seven glycaemic meta-analyses we read, only Vajdi and colleagues assessed GRADE at all, and their moderate rating was itself downgraded for publication bias. The heterogeneity figures are extreme — an I² of 99% means the trials being pooled disagree with one another almost completely, which makes the pooled number a poor summary of any of them. And the reviews are not independent of each other: they draw on largely the same small trials, several of which reported no method of randomisation or allocation concealment.
The direction also reverses depending on who pools. Shabil and colleagues, pooling fourteen trials, found no significant difference in fasting blood glucose at all. Neelakantan and colleagues, in Nutrition Journal in 2014 (PMID 24438170), found their result disappeared entirely in the subgroups that matter most for anyone reading a supplement label: at doses below five grams a day the effect was null, in hydroalcoholic extracts rather than whole seed it was null, and in participants who did not already have diabetes it was null.
The lactation evidence is thinner still. The 2020 Cochrane review of oral galactagogues included fenugreek among twenty-seven natural therapies and rated the evidence low to very low, stating in terms that the reviewers were very uncertain whether fenugreek improved infant weight; pooling for milk volume was not possible at all. A 2026 systematic review of herbal galactagogues in mothers of preterm babies (PMID 41350450) found two fenugreek trials, both null, and concluded there was insufficient evidence to recommend it in that population.
On testosterone, the picture is narrower than the marketing suggests in one specific way: almost every trial reporting a hormonal effect used a patented, standardised extract rather than culinary seed, and where funding was checkable it usually came from the company selling the extract. One frequently cited trial (PMID 20979623) concluded in its own abstract that the extract had no anabolic effect on the hormonal status of resistance-trained men; another (PMID 28138310) was single-arm and open-label with no control group and reported total testosterone as non-significant at p = 0.164. The 2023 meta-analysis above found free testosterone, lean body mass, fat mass and leg-press performance all statistically indistinguishable from placebo.

What Regulators Actually Permit You to Be Told
This is the shortest way to calibrate everything above. Regulators in Great Britain and the EU have looked at fenugreek and written down what may and may not be said about it.
| Register | What it says about fenugreek |
|---|---|
| GB nutrition and health claims register | One fenugreek entry, and it is non-authorised: a claim for a standardised fenugreek seed extract on blood glucose, rejected because the effect was not substantiated (Commission Regulation (EU) 2016/371) |
| Retained Regulation (EU) No 432/2012, Annex, as it applies in GB | No entry for fenugreek, Trigonella or foenum anywhere in the permitted-claims list |
| GB “on hold” claims list | Ten fenugreek claim identifiers still pending, usable only under strict transitional conditions |
| EU herbal monograph, Trigonella foenum-graecum L., semen, Revision 1 (2021) | Traditional use only: temporary loss of appetite, and symptomatic treatment of minor inflammations of the skin. The well-established-use column is empty |
| EU Novel Food Catalogue | The seed is not a novel food, having been eaten in the EU before 15 May 1997. Isolated 4-hydroxyisoleucine is classified as a novel food |
The fourth row is the one people misread. A traditional-use herbal registration is granted on the basis of long-standing use — thirty years, of which fifteen in the EU — and explicitly not on the basis of clinical studies. It is a statement about history, not about efficacy. When a product carries that registration and a marketing page next to it cites trials, those are two different kinds of claim standing side by side, and only one of them has been assessed.
A Legume, and a Smell: Two Safety Points Worth Knowing
Two things about fenugreek are worth knowing before anyone starts eating it in quantity, and neither is widely flagged on packaging.
It is a legume, and the allergy cross-reactivity is real. The EU herbal monograph contraindicates fenugreek in anyone hypersensitive to the active substance, to peanut, to soya, or to other plants of the Fabaceae family. The molecular basis has been worked out: Faeste and colleagues, in the Journal of Proteomics in 2010 (PMID 20219717), showed in vitro that fenugreek’s 7S-vicilin and 11S-legumin storage proteins share considerable homology with the peanut allergens Ara h 1 and Ara h 3. Clinically confirmed reactions exist but are few — a 1997 report described two patients who reacted to both fenugreek and chickpea under double-blind placebo-controlled challenge (PMID 9087156), and a 2024 case report confirmed fenugreek allergy by oral food challenge in a child, with inhibition testing indicating peanut as the primary sensitiser (PMID 39040656). A 2022 cohort of 195 peanut-allergic children (PMID 36156816) found fenugreek was the most common legume sensitisation on testing, while noting that most of that positivity was sensitisation without clinical allergy. If you have a peanut, chickpea or lupin allergy, this is a conversation to have with your allergy team before eating fenugreek in any concentrated form.
It can make you smell of maple syrup. The compound is sotolon — 3-hydroxy-4,5-dimethyl-2(5H)-furanone — identified by Podebrad and colleagues in the Journal of Inherited Metabolic Disease in 1999 (PMID 10234605) as the odorant responsible for the maple-syrup smell in maple syrup urine disease, and described in the same paper as a well-known flavour compound of fenugreek. The clinical consequence is documented: Korman and colleagues reported in 2001 (PMID 11532065) that mothers who took fenugreek around labour produced newborns with a maple-syrup odour, prompting false suspicion of the metabolic disease. The earliest indexed report of the same confusion dates to 1981 (PMID 7254294). One honest caveat: a 2011 analysis of male armpit sweat after fenugreek ingestion (PMID 25214354) did not detect sotolon in sweat, attributing the maple note there largely to a different compound, so the urine story is better established than the sweat story.
The monograph adds two further cautions worth repeating: it advises considering close monitoring of glycaemic control in people already being treated for diabetes, and it does not recommend fenugreek during pregnancy or lactation, on the basis of animal reproductive toxicity data and an absence of human data. A case report from 2001 (PMID 11310527) describes a rise in INR in a patient taking warfarin alongside a boldo-and-fenugreek preparation, which recurred on rechallenge — though the two herbs were taken together, so fenugreek is not isolated in that account.

Three Objections Worth Taking Seriously
“People have used this for thousands of years. Does a GRADE rating really matter?” The two are answering different questions and both are legitimate. Long use tells you something about tolerability at culinary doses in ordinary populations, which is genuinely informative — it is exactly what a traditional-use registration is designed to capture. What it cannot tell you is whether a capsule of standardised extract changes a laboratory measurement, because nobody was measuring. The certainty rating is not a verdict on the tradition; it is a statement about how much weight the recent trials can bear.
“Several meta-analyses found an effect. Why lead with the heterogeneity?” Because an I² of 99% is not a footnote. It means the trials being combined point in materially different directions, and the single averaged number conceals rather than summarises that. The clearest demonstration is that two review teams pooling overlapping sets of the same trials reported fasting glucose effects of −3.70 and −20.32 mg/dL. Both used defensible methods. That spread is the finding.
“You sell a competing supplement. Is this not just disparagement?” We sell black seed oil, which is not a fenugreek product and does not compete with one; the two are used for entirely different things and we would gain nothing from you thinking less of fenugreek. We have applied exactly the same test to our own category more than once, including to claims made about black seed oil that we declined to repeat. The standard is the standard.
Why Sidr & Stone
The thread running through this article is that a name is not a specification and a pooled figure is not a finding. Our own seed is a case study in the first problem: Nigella sativa is sold in English as black seed, black cumin, kalonji, onion seed and nigella, and two of those names belong to entirely different plants. Fenugreek has the mirror-image problem — one plant, four defensible written forms of one Latin name. Both are reasons to read the botanical name rather than the marketing.
- Independently verified 2.67% thymoquinone, tested per batch
- Tested by Analytice, an ISO-accredited French laboratory, with a Certificate of Analysis
- Organically grown Ethiopian highland Nigella sativa — chosen after a 36-supplier evaluation
- Cold-pressed below 40°C to protect the heat-sensitive thymoquinone
- 100% pure — a single ingredient, nothing added
- Unrefined, which preserves the oil’s natural integrity
- Bottled in matte black UV-protective glass
- Halal certified
- 10% of profits to charity
- Fulfilment in the UK, EU, and US
We will not tell you Sidr & Stone is the strongest or the purest black seed oil — that is exactly the sort of unmeasured claim this article has spent several sections declining to accept from anyone else. What we will say is that our thymoquinone figure is 2.67%, independently verified per batch by a named accredited laboratory. If you want the checklist we would apply to anybody’s bottle, ours included, it is in our guide to choosing a quality black seed oil. For the naming problem on our own side of the fence, see why kalonji is sold as onion seed oil, and for the Urdu side of the same tangle, black cumin seed in Urdu.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is foenum graecum?
Foenum graecum is the species epithet of Trigonella foenum-graecum L., the botanical name for fenugreek. It is Latin for “Greek hay”. Kew lists the species as accepted, in the family Fabaceae, published by Linnaeus in 1753.
Is foenum graecum the same as fenugreek?
Yes. They are the same plant. “Fenugreek” is the English common name, itself a corruption of the same Latin; foenum-graecum is the botanical epithet. In South Asia the seed is methi dana and the leaf is methi.
Why is it written “foenugraeci” on some labels?
Because pharmacopoeial and herbal-medicine documents use a different naming convention. The European Pharmacopoeia monograph is Trigonellae foenugraeci semen — the genus and epithet in the genitive, describing the drug substance. Both spellings refer to the same species.
What family does Trigonella foenum-graecum belong to?
Fabaceae, the pea and bean family, in the order Fabales. That is why fenugreek carries allergy cross-reactivity with other legumes, and why the EU herbal monograph contraindicates it in people sensitive to peanut or soya.
Is there an authorised health claim for fenugreek in the UK?
No. The GB nutrition and health claims register contains a single fenugreek entry and it is a non-authorised one — a blood-glucose claim for a standardised extract that was assessed and not substantiated. Fenugreek does not appear in the permitted-claims Annex at all.
Why does fenugreek make you smell of maple syrup?
The compound is sotolon, identified in published work as both a flavour compound of fenugreek and the odorant behind the maple smell in maple syrup urine disease. Case reports describe newborns of mothers who took fenugreek being investigated for that condition as a result.
Are fenugreek seed and fenugreek leaf the same plant?
Yes. Both are Trigonella foenum-graecum. “Kasuri methi” is less settled: most retail product is dried leaf of this species, but Indian agronomy applies the name to a second crop that Kew does not accept as a distinct species.
Is black seed oil a medicine?
No. Black seed oil is a food supplement, not a medicine. It has a long traditional history and an interesting body of research around thymoquinone, and can be a worthwhile part of a healthy routine — but it does not cure diseases and is not a substitute for medical care. Be cautious of any black seed oil marketed with specific disease-cure claims.
Final Thoughts
Foenum graecum is a fragment of Latin that has outlived several of the classifications it was written for. It survives as an epithet, as a genitive in a pharmacopoeia, as a capitalised string in a cosmetic ingredient list and as a ghost genus in eighteenth-century botany. All of those forms point at the same annual legume from a native range Kew puts between Iraq and northern Pakistan.
What the name does not tell you is what is in the packet, and that is the recurring lesson. The registers that do say something specific are narrow about it: a pharmacopoeial identity test with no assay behind it, a traditional-use registration that says nothing about trials, and a claims register whose only fenugreek entry is a rejection. The published trial evidence is real but heterogeneous to the point of being hard to summarise, and only one of the pooled analyses we read graded its own certainty. Reporting that honestly is more useful than reporting a single averaged number.
We take the same view of our own product, which is why we publish a laboratory figure with the method and the laboratory named rather than an adjective. Our cold-pressed Ethiopian black seed oil — pure Nigella sativa, independently verified at 2.67% thymoquinone — is available now, with fulfilment in the UK, EU, and US.
Shop Sidr & Stone Cold-Pressed Ethiopian Black Seed Oil — Verified 2.67% Thymoquinone →
Disclaimer: This article describes botanical naming, published research and regulatory positions relating to Trigonella foenum-graecum at the time of writing; registers and research findings change, and readers should check current sources. Nothing here is a claim that fenugreek treats, prevents or manages any condition, and Sidr & Stone does not sell fenugreek. Black seed oil is a food supplement, not a medicine, and is not a substitute for medical treatment of any condition. For any health concern, and before changing anything you take alongside prescribed medicine, consult a GP or pharmacist.
