Assorted olive oil bottles of different shapes and tints on a rustic wooden counter beside bowls of olives

Ottavio Olive Oil: An Honest Look at the Brand

Ottavio olive oil is one of the more familiar names on American supermarket shelves, and the questions behind a search for it are usually simple: who makes it, where do the olives come from, and which bottle should I pick up? The answers are less obvious than for most brands, because Ottavio is not one oil but a broad range — extra virgin oils from Spain, Italy and Greece, several organic bottles, flavoured oils, sprays, and refined grades such as Classic and Extra Light Tasting. This review sets out what the retail listings for each Ottavio oil state, as they read on H-E-B, Walmart and Costco's websites on 1 October 2026, together with the public trademark record for the name. The brand's own website carried little product detail when we checked, so the listings are where the facts are. We credit the range where it earns it, and note what to check on the bottle in your hand.


The Short Answer

  • Ottavio is a US-sold cooking-oil brand with a wide olive oil range. The OTTAVIO trademark for "olive oil and specialty olive oil" is registered in the US to Valco Enterprises, L.L.C., registered since 2000 and since renewed.
  • Origin depends on the bottle. Retail listings give Spain for the Early Harvest oil, Italy for the Private Reserve and Unfiltered oils, and Greece for the Summum oil sold through Costco.
  • There are genuine organic options. H-E-B lists several Ottavio extra virgin oils as organic, including the Private Reserve Organic, an Organic Cold Pressed oil in two sizes and a Robust Flavor version.
  • One oil states an acidity ceiling. Walmart's listing for Ottavio Early Harvest gives a "maximum acidity of 0.4%", half the 0.8% limit for the extra virgin grade.
  • Not every Ottavio olive oil is extra virgin. Ottavio Classic Olive Oil and Extra Light Tasting Olive Oil are different, milder grades — read the front label before you buy.
  • Where it is sold: H-E-B lists more than thirty Ottavio products; Costco lists the Summum oil; Walmart and Amazon list several extra virgin bottles.

Who Is Behind Ottavio

Ottavio presents itself as a kitchen-oil brand rather than a single estate or mill. The US trademark record for OTTAVIO — registration number 2406777, covering "olive oil and specialty olive oil" — names Valco Enterprises, L.L.C. as the owner; the mark was registered on 21 November 2000 and has since been renewed. The same company also holds the related OTTAVIO ALTUM mark for olive oil.

The brand's website, ottaviofoods.com, showed little more than its logo when we visited on 1 October 2026, so the clearest public picture of the range comes from the retailers that stock it. Those listings describe a brand that buys and bottles oil from several Mediterranean countries and sells it under one name, at several grades and in many formats. That is a common model for large supermarket brands, and it is the context for everything below: with Ottavio, the bottle you choose matters more than the brand name on it. Our look at the world's best-known olive oil brands covers other names built the same way.

Four white dishes of olive oil from light gold to golden-green on pale limestone with olive sprigs


The Ottavio Olive Oil Range, Bottle by Bottle

The table below collects the olive oils listed under the Ottavio name by H-E-B, Walmart and Costco on 1 October 2026. The descriptions and origins are as each retailer states them, summarised; where a listing gives no origin, we say so rather than guess.

Ottavio oil Grade Origin, as listed What the listing states
Early Harvest Extra Virgin Olive Oil (1L) Extra virgin Spain ("Product of Spain") Cold pressed and early harvest; "maximum acidity of 0.4%" (Walmart)
Private Reserve Cold Pressed Extra Virgin Olive Oil (25.5 oz) Extra virgin Italy ("Made in Italy") Kosher; for salads, bread dipping, meat, fish and pasta (H-E-B)
Private Reserve Organic Cold Pressed Extra Virgin Olive Oil (25.5 oz) Extra virgin, organic Italy ("Made in Italy") Organic, Kosher; single ingredient, organic extra virgin olive oil (H-E-B)
Organic Cold Pressed Extra Virgin Olive Oil (17 oz and 34 oz) and Robust Flavor (17 oz) Extra virgin, organic Not stated in the listing Organic, Kosher; for salads, baking, sautéing and cooking (H-E-B)
Unfiltered Extra Virgin Olive Oil (1L) Extra virgin Italy ("Country of Origin: Italy") Store in a cool place away from direct sunlight (Walmart)
Summum Extra Virgin Olive Oil (3L) Extra virgin Greece ("Product of Greece") Cold pressed; rich, fruity flavour with a smooth finish; Kosher (Costco)
Classic Olive Oil and Extra Light Tasting Olive Oil (25.5 oz) Olive oil (not extra virgin) Not stated in the listing Milder, all-purpose cooking grades (H-E-B)

Alongside these, H-E-B lists squeeze-bottle versions of the Private Reserve and Organic oils, an organic garlic-flavoured extra virgin oil, and olive oil sprays in plain, garlic, lemon and chilli-and-garlic versions. Beyond olive oil, the same shelf carries Ottavio avocado, grapeseed, sunflower, sesame and almond oils — a reminder that Ottavio is a broad cooking-oil brand, not an olive specialist.


Where Ottavio's Olives Come From

Because Ottavio sources from more than one country, each bottle has to be read on its own terms. On the listings we checked, the Early Harvest oil is Spanish, the Private Reserve and Unfiltered oils are Italian, and the Summum oil is Greek. That is three of the Mediterranean's largest producing countries, and each tends towards a different style.

Spanish extra virgin is often built on Picual and other high-yield native varieties and can be grassy and peppery; our guide to what Spain actually puts in the bottle explains the main styles. Greek oil leans heavily on the small Koroneiki olive, which is covered in our guide to Greek olive oil. And an Italian origin on the label is worth reading carefully — "Made in Italy" can describe where an oil was bottled as well as where it was grown, which our guide to what "Italian" means on the bottle sets out.

The listings we read do not name olive varieties or individual regions for any Ottavio oil. The origin statement printed on the bottle itself is the authoritative one, and it is the line to check if origin matters to you.

Branch of firm bright green olives in a grove with rows of trees on reddish soil and hills


Early Harvest and Unfiltered: Ottavio's Two Specialist Oils

Two Ottavio oils stand apart from the everyday bottles. The first is the Spanish Early Harvest oil. Olives picked early in the season, while still green, generally give less oil but a greener, more peppery flavour, and are usually richer in polyphenols than fully ripe fruit. Walmart's listing describes the oil as cold pressed and early harvest, and states a "maximum acidity of 0.4%". Free acidity is one of the basic tests of olive oil quality, and the ceiling for the extra virgin grade is 0.8%, so a stated maximum of 0.4% sits comfortably inside it. Our guide to early harvest olive oil explains what the term does and does not guarantee.

The second is the Italian Unfiltered oil. Unfiltered oil goes into the bottle without passing through a filter, so it can look slightly cloudy and may settle a little natural sediment over time. Some cooks prefer its fuller texture; others prefer the clarity and shelf stability of a filtered oil. Neither is a grade in its own right — both can be extra virgin — and our article on unfiltered vs filtered olive oil explains the trade-offs.

Cloudy unfiltered golden-green olive oil beside clear filtered oil in glass carafes with sliced crusty bread


Organic, Classic and Extra Light: Reading the Grade

Ottavio's organic range is one of its real strengths. H-E-B lists the Private Reserve Organic, the Organic Cold Pressed oil in 17 oz and 34 oz bottles, the Organic Robust Flavor oil, an organic squeeze bottle, an organic garlic-flavoured oil and organic sprays — more organic choices than many supermarket brands offer. For a buyer who wants organic extra virgin oil at a supermarket, that breadth is genuinely useful. Our guide to organic olive oil explains what the organic label does and does not tell you about the oil.

At the other end of the range, Ottavio Classic Olive Oil and Extra Light Tasting Olive Oil are not extra virgin. In the trade, an oil sold simply as "olive oil" is usually a blend of refined olive oil with some virgin oil, and "light" or "extra light" describes a milder flavour and colour, not fewer calories. These grades have a neutral taste that some cooks want for baking or frying. They are a different product from the extra virgin bottles beside them, and our explainer on light olive oil sets out the differences.

The practical point is simple: with a brand this broad, the grade on the front label tells you more than the brand name.


Where to Buy Ottavio and What to Check

On 1 October 2026, H-E-B listed more than thirty Ottavio products, Costco listed Ottavio Summum Extra Virgin Olive Oil in a 3-litre bottle, and Walmart listed the Early Harvest and Unfiltered oils (the Early Harvest bottle showed as out of stock on Walmart's site that day). Amazon also lists Ottavio Private Reserve and Organic oils. Availability varies by region and store, so check your local listing.

Whichever Ottavio bottle you choose, the same checks apply:

  • Confirm the grade — "extra virgin" — on the front label, not just the brand name.
  • Read the origin statement on the bottle; with Ottavio it differs from oil to oil.
  • Look for a harvest date or best-before date and pick the freshest bottle on the shelf.
  • Buy a size you will finish within a few months of opening — the 3-litre bottle suits a busy kitchen, not an occasional drizzle.
  • Store the oil away from light and heat, with the cap closed.

For a fuller walkthrough, see our guide to choosing a quality olive oil, and for a wider look at supermarket shelves, our guide to the best grocery store olive oil.

Unbranded cooking oil bottles and large plastic jugs in assorted sizes lined up on a supermarket shelf


The Questions a Careful Buyer Will Ask

"Is Ottavio a good olive oil?" It depends which Ottavio. The range runs from a Spanish early-harvest extra virgin with a stated acidity ceiling, through Italian and Greek extra virgin oils and several organic bottles, to refined Classic and Extra Light grades. Judge the specific bottle by its grade, origin and date rather than by the brand as a whole.

"Why doesn't this review quote polyphenol figures?" Because we did not find any published for Ottavio oils in the listings or on the brand's site on the day we checked. That is common among supermarket brands and is not a mark against the oil; it simply means there is no figure to report.

"This review is written by another olive oil producer. Why should I trust it?" A fair question. Every product detail above comes from a retailer's own listing or the public trademark record, quoted where the wording matters and dated. We have kept our own oil out of it until the next section.


How Ottavio Compares

Ottavio's strengths are breadth and reach. It offers extra virgin oils from three countries, a stated acidity ceiling on its Early Harvest oil, an unfiltered option, a wide organic range, Kosher listings and convenient formats from squeeze bottles to 3-litre bottles, all in mainstream supermarkets. For a shopper who wants one familiar name that covers everyday cooking, organic and finishing oils, that is a practical offer. Supermarket brands built the same way include Pompeian and Costco's Kirkland range, and our explainer on what extra virgin olive oil is covers the grade they share.

We make olive oil on a different model. Our Cold-Pressed Single-Estate Extra Virgin Olive Oil - Marrakech (500ml) comes from one source — our own family-owned farm on the plains outside Marrakech, Morocco — rather than several countries. It is cold-pressed within hours of harvest and unfiltered, from a limited single-harvest batch, and the harvest details for the current batch are on the product page. It comes in one size and one grade, so it cannot match Ottavio's range, its organic line or its supermarket availability; what it offers instead is a single named origin you can trace to one farm. Our article on single-estate olive oil explains why that matters to some buyers and not to others.

Sidr & Stone Cold-Pressed Single-Estate Extra Virgin Olive Oil - Marrakech (500ml) beside golden-green oil and olives on limestone


Frequently Asked Questions

Who makes Ottavio olive oil?

The US trademark OTTAVIO, for olive oil and specialty olive oil, is registered to Valco Enterprises, L.L.C. The oils themselves are sourced from several countries, which vary by bottle.

Where is Ottavio olive oil from?

It depends on the oil. Retail listings give Spain for Ottavio Early Harvest, Italy for the Private Reserve and Unfiltered oils, and Greece for Ottavio Summum. Check the origin statement on the bottle you buy.

Is Ottavio olive oil extra virgin?

Most Ottavio olive oils are extra virgin, but not all. Ottavio Classic Olive Oil and Extra Light Tasting Olive Oil are milder, non-extra-virgin grades, so check the front label.

Is Ottavio olive oil organic?

Some of it is. H-E-B lists the Private Reserve Organic, the Organic Cold Pressed oil, the Organic Robust Flavor oil and several organic squeeze, flavoured and spray products as organic.

What is Ottavio Early Harvest olive oil?

A Spanish extra virgin olive oil in a 1-litre bottle, described by Walmart's listing as cold pressed and early harvest, with a stated maximum acidity of 0.4%.

Is Ottavio olive oil sold at Costco?

Costco's website lists Ottavio Summum Extra Virgin Olive Oil, a Greek extra virgin oil in a 3-litre bottle. Warehouse ranges vary by region.

How does Ottavio compare with Sidr & Stone olive oil?

Ottavio offers a wide range from several countries, including organic bottles, in mainstream supermarkets. Sidr & Stone makes one single-estate extra virgin oil from its own farm outside Marrakech, cold-pressed within hours of harvest and unfiltered, with fulfilment in the UK, EU, and US.

Is olive oil a medicine?

No. Olive oil is a food, not a medicine. It has a long traditional history — including being honoured in the Prophetic Sunnah — and a substantial body of modern research, particularly around polyphenols, cardiovascular health, and the Mediterranean diet pattern. It can be a worthwhile part of a healthy routine, but it does not cure diseases and is not a substitute for medical care. Be cautious of any olive oil marketed with specific disease-cure claims.


Final Thoughts

Ottavio is best understood as a range rather than a single oil. Its retail listings show extra virgin oils from Spain, Italy and Greece, an early-harvest bottle with a stated 0.4% acidity ceiling, an unfiltered option, a broad organic line and refined Classic and Extra Light grades, sold widely through H-E-B, Costco, Walmart and Amazon. For an everyday supermarket oil, that range is its strength.

The honest advice is to choose the bottle, not the brand: read the grade, the origin and the date on the label, and pick the oil that suits how you cook. If you would rather buy an oil whose origin is a single farm, our Cold-Pressed Single-Estate Extra Virgin Olive Oil - Marrakech (500ml) is available as a limited single-harvest batch, with fulfilment in the UK, EU, and US.

Sidr & Stone Cold-Pressed Single-Estate Extra Virgin Olive Oil - Marrakech (500ml) with gold pourer beside bread and oil

Our extra virgin olive oil is grown organically on our own single-estate farm on the plains outside Marrakech: we control every step from tree to bottle, and no synthetic pesticides, herbicides or fertilisers are used. It is not yet certified organic — certification is in progress, and we will publish it as soon as it comes through.

Pre-Order Sidr & Stone Cold-Pressed Single-Estate Extra Virgin Olive Oil - Marrakech (500ml) — Limited Single-Harvest Batch →


Disclaimer: This article describes Ottavio olive oils using the product listings published by H-E-B (heb.com), Walmart (walmart.com) and Costco (costco.com and costcobusinessdelivery.com), and the public US trademark record for OTTAVIO, as they read on 1 October 2026; product details, origins, ranges and availability may change, and readers should check the label and current sources. References to Ottavio and to these retailers describe published information and are not affiliated with or endorsed by them. Comparisons are made in good faith and in fair terms. Olive oil is a food, not a medicine, and is not a substitute for medical treatment of any condition. For any health concern, consult a qualified medical professional.

Back to blog