Walmart Olive Oil: How to Read the Widest Shelf in US Grocery
By Yusuf Elsayed, Founder of Sidr & Stone · Last updated 12 September 2026Share
Walmart olive oil is not one product but a whole spectrum, and that is the useful thing about it. The shelf runs from a multi-tier own-brand line through the biggest names in the American olive oil trade to single-origin newcomers that print a harvest date on every bottle. Those bottles sit within arm's reach of each other, and they are not remotely comparable on the things that actually distinguish an olive oil. This article judges the Walmart shelf on one thing only: what each producer declares in writing. No taste rankings, no value judgements. Grade, origin, harvest, processing language, packaging and certification — the same six checks that work in any grocery aisle, applied to the widest assortment in American grocery.
For our own oil, see our cold-pressed organic Marrakech olive oil.
The Short Answer
- Walmart's own-brand olive oil is a grade ladder, not a quality ladder. Great Value spans extra virgin, organic extra virgin, an Organic Italian extra virgin, a "Classic" pure grade and a light-tasting grade — the rungs differ by legal grade and processing, not by ascending provenance.
- Unlike some retailers, Walmart has no upper own-brand olive oil tier. Its premium private label, bettergoods, launched in 2024 across frozen, dairy, snacks, beverages, pasta, soups, coffee and chocolate — and, on the published range, does not include an olive oil.
- The best-declared oils on a Walmart shelf are national brands, not own-brand. Graza publishes single-origin Jaén Picual with a harvest date on every bottle; Terra Delyssa declares 100% Tunisian single origin with a per-lot traceability lookup tested in an IOC-accredited laboratory.
- Read the aerosol separately. Great Value's extra virgin olive oil spray lists soy lecithin, dimethyl silicone and hydrocarbon propellants alongside the oil, which makes it a different product from the bottle even though the front says the same words.
- The NAOOA Quality Seal is unusually useful in this particular aisle, because several brands Walmart carries participate in it — Colavita, Filippo Berio, Goya, Pompeian, Star, Terra Delyssa and Zoe among them — and it means the oil was independently tested against International Olive Council purity standards.
- Nothing on the shelf publishes what an estate oil publishes. Sidr & Stone's own oil is single-estate, rain-fed, organically grown and cold-pressed within hours of a single harvest — and we have no laboratory figures published yet either, which we say plainly.
What Walmart's Olive Oil Shelf Actually Contains
Great Value is the anchor, and it is broader than most own-brand olive oil ranges. It is worth understanding as a set of legal grades rather than a set of quality steps — "Classic" is not a better extra virgin, it is a different grade entirely.
| Great Value line | What the grade means | What it declares | Best suited to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Extra Virgin | Unrefined, mechanically extracted, the top legal grade | Cold pressed; some sizes marked kosher pareve | General cooking and dressing |
| Organic Extra Virgin | Extra virgin from certified organic olives | Cold pressed, USDA Organic | Buyers who want the organic certificate |
| Organic Italian Extra Virgin | Extra virgin, single named country | First cold pressed, organic olives grown in Italy | The only own-brand line naming one country |
| Classic ("100% pure") | A blend of refined olive oil and virgin olive oil | No unrefined claim; no origin | Higher-heat cooking where flavour is not the point |
| Light Tasting | Also a refined blend, filtered for a neutral profile | Higher smoke point stated | Baking and frying |
| Extra Virgin Spray | Extra virgin oil plus additives and propellants | Soy lecithin, dimethyl silicone, isobutane/propane | Pan release — not a substitute for the bottle |
Our fuller assessment of the own-brand line, including how store-brand olive oil is produced, sits in our piece on Great Value olive oil — this article is about the whole shelf around it.

The Six Signals, Applied to a Walmart Shelf
The six checks that sort any olive oil aisle — grade, declared origin, harvest information, processing language, packaging, and third-party certification — are set out in full in our guide to reading a supermarket own-brand range. We will not re-teach them here. What is worth saying is how differently they land at Walmart.
At a retailer with a tightly curated range, the six signals mostly separate own-brand tiers from each other. At Walmart they separate whole brands. On a single fixture you can find an oil that declares a grove region and a harvest date next to one that declares nothing beyond the legal grade — and the front labels look equally confident.
That is the specific skill this aisle demands: not deciding whether extra virgin is worth having, but noticing that two bottles both saying "extra virgin" can be carrying wildly different amounts of information.

Where the Walmart Shelf Genuinely Outperforms
This is the part that surprises people. Because Walmart's assortment is so broad, it now carries several of the most transparent olive oils sold in the United States — brands that a smaller, more curated retailer might not have room for.
| Brand | Origin declared | Harvest date declared | Processing language | Third-party certification |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graza | Single origin — Jaén, Spain; predominantly Picual | Yes, printed on every bottle | Picked, pressed and bottled in the same season | None claimed |
| Terra Delyssa | Single origin — 100% Tunisian, never blended | Per-lot harvest season via traceability lookup | First cold pressed, never refined | NAOOA; Non-GMO Project; USDA Organic on the organic line |
| California Olive Ranch | 100% California on that range; a separate import blend line | Yes, on the back label of the Californian range | Cold pressed | Olive Oil Commission of California seal |
| Pompeian | Imported; lot number offered for farm traceability | Not published | First cold pressed | NAOOA; USDA Organic on the organic line |
| Filippo Berio | Mediterranean blend; a separate 100% Italian line | Not published | Not stated on pack | NAOOA; USDA Organic on the organic line |
| Colavita / Botticelli | Not narrowed on pack | Not published | Not stated on pack | NAOOA |
Graza rolled into Walmart nationally in 2025 and was reported at the time as the first single-origin olive oil of its kind at the retailer — a genuinely notable thing for a mass-market grocery fixture. Terra Delyssa is the other standout: a Tunisian brand insisting on its own origin, in a market where Tunisian oil is more often sold anonymously into somebody else's blend. Both deserve credit, and neither of them is us.

Format and Packaging: The Walmart-Specific Decision
Warehouse-scale grocery sells warehouse-scale formats, and that creates a decision you do not face at a small grocer. Olive oil degrades on contact with light, heat and air — the polyphenols and the flavour go first — and every one of those exposures increases the longer a bottle stays open.
| Format | What it suits | The honest trade-off |
|---|---|---|
| Very large plastic bottle | Volume cooking in a busy household | Clear plastic gives the least light protection, and the last third will have been open for months |
| Standard dark glass bottle | Everyday cooking and dressing | A reasonable balance; check you will finish it within a few months of opening |
| Small finishing bottle | Raw use — salads, bread, drizzling | Gets used up while it is still fresh, which is the whole point |
| Aerosol spray | Greasing tins and pans | Contains additives and propellants; treat it as a kitchen tool, not as olive oil |
The practical move on a Walmart shelf is often two bottles rather than one — a workhorse for the pan and something better-declared for raw use. We make the same argument about warehouse formats in our look at choosing the best olive oil at Costco, where the bottles are larger still.

What Walmart Does Not Publish
Walmart publishes a substantial body of supplier standards and responsible-sourcing material, including commodity-specific policies for forests, seafood and produce. We could not find an olive-oil-specific sourcing standard, grade commitment or origin-disclosure policy anywhere in it. Nor is there any published statement about where Great Value olive oil comes from beyond the Organic Italian line.
Two things follow. First, the own-brand grade ladder tells you what the oil legally is, but not where it grew — and origin is where most of the difference between two extra virgins actually lives. Second, no own-brand tier on the shelf declares a harvest date, which means you cannot tell a recent pressing from a two-year-old one by reading the bottle.
That is not a criticism unique to Walmart. It reflects how private-label sourcing works everywhere: the bottler buys to a specification and a price, from whichever origins deliver it that season, and a fixed origin declaration would constrain that. It is a normal commercial arrangement. It just means the label is telling you less than it looks like it is.
Two Fair Objections
"Isn't most supermarket olive oil fake anyway?" This is the most common thing said about the category, and the evidence is more mixed than the headline suggests. A widely cited University of California, Davis Olive Center study published in 2010 and repeated in 2011 found that a large majority of samples from five top-selling imported brands failed International Olive Council sensory panels for extra virgin — but those samples were bought in Californian supermarkets over a decade ago, store brands were not tested, and Walmart was not identified as a purchase location. More recently, the North American Olive Oil Association's 2024 testing programme, reported in 2025, tested 216 retail samples — including 37 private-label bottles — against IOC purity standards and found no adulteration. Purity and sensory grade are different questions, and the honest position is that adulteration appears rare whilst grade slippage is harder to rule out. If that worries you, the seal on the bottle is the practical answer.
"You are judging paperwork, not oil." Fair, and we would concede it in the same terms we concede it elsewhere. A brand can publish beautifully and press indifferently; a brand can publish nothing and make something excellent. Declarations are a proxy. They are the only proxy available to you standing in an aisle with the cap still on, and they correlate with the operational discipline — fast pressing, controlled storage, actual testing — that produces good oil in the first place. Taste remains the final judgement, and you can only make it at home.
Why Sidr & Stone
The argument running through this article is that a bottle is worth what its maker is prepared to declare about it. Applied to our own oil, that reads as follows.
- Single-estate — one family-owned grove on the plains outside Marrakech, Morocco, with no blending across origins
- Rain-fed — no irrigation; the trees take what the season gives them
- Organically grown — no synthetic fertilisers, pesticides or herbicides
- Single harvest — a small, limited batch; once the season's pressing is gone, it is gone until next year
- Cold-pressed within hours of harvest — flavour, aroma and polyphenols preserved
- Unfiltered extra virgin — minimally processed, and it may show natural sediment, which is normal
- 100% natural — a single ingredient, nothing added
- Dark glass with a gold label — protective packaging against light
- Halal certified
- 10% of profits to charity, a commitment that applies across every Sidr & Stone product
- Fulfilment in the UK, EU, and US
Two honest limits, stated because this article has spent its length asking other people to state theirs. We do not hold formal organic certification — the oil is organically grown, which is a description of how it is farmed, not a certificate. And our first harvest has not yet been through a laboratory panel, so we publish no free acidity figure and no polyphenol figure. Several brands on the Walmart shelf beat us on both of those points, and we are not going to pretend otherwise.
We will not tell you Sidr & Stone is the best olive oil — that would be the very claim this article warns against. What we will say is that our oil comes from one named grove, harvested once, pressed within hours, and bottled unfiltered in dark glass, and that every one of those statements is specific enough to be checked.

Frequently Asked Questions
Is Walmart olive oil good?
It depends entirely on which bottle you pick up, and the range is unusually wide. The shelf carries both oils that declare a single grove region and a harvest date, and oils that declare nothing beyond the legal grade. Judged on declarations, Graza and Terra Delyssa are the strongest things on it.
What is the difference between Great Value Extra Virgin and Great Value Classic olive oil?
They are different legal grades. Extra Virgin is unrefined oil extracted mechanically from the fruit. Classic, sold as "100% pure" olive oil, is a blend of refined olive oil with some virgin oil added back — which is why it tastes milder and takes higher heat.
Does Walmart sell single-origin olive oil?
Yes. Graza declares single-origin Jaén Picual from Spain, Terra Delyssa declares 100% Tunisian origin, and California Olive Ranch's 100% California range is single-state. Walmart's own Great Value line names a country only on its Organic Italian extra virgin.
Does Walmart's own-brand olive oil publish a harvest date?
No. We found no harvest or pressing date declared on any Great Value olive oil line. Best-before dates appear, but a best-before date describes expected shelf life rather than how long ago the olives were picked.
Is Great Value olive oil real olive oil?
The bottled grades are olive oil as legally defined — the questions worth asking are about grade and origin, not authenticity. The aerosol spray is the exception: it lists soy lecithin, dimethyl silicone and hydrocarbon propellants alongside the oil, so it is a different product from what is in the bottle.
What is the NAOOA seal on some Walmart bottles?
It is the North American Olive Oil Association's Quality Seal. Participating brands submit oils for independent testing against International Olive Council purity standards. Colavita, Filippo Berio, Goya, Pompeian, Star, Terra Delyssa and Zoe are among the certified brands, several of which Walmart carries.
How does Sidr & Stone compare with what Walmart carries?
On traceability we go further — one family grove near Marrakech, one harvest, pressed within hours, bottled unfiltered. On laboratory disclosure we currently go less far, because our first harvest has not been tested yet, whilst Terra Delyssa publishes per-lot chemistry from an accredited laboratory. Both of those are true at once.
Is olive oil a medicine?
No. Olive oil is a food, not a medicine. It has a long traditional history — including being honoured in the Prophetic Sunnah — and a substantial body of modern research, particularly around polyphenols, cardiovascular health, and the Mediterranean diet pattern. It can be a worthwhile part of a healthy routine, but it does not cure diseases and is not a substitute for medical care. Be cautious of any olive oil marketed with specific disease-cure claims.
Final Thoughts
The Walmart olive oil shelf rewards a reader more than almost any other in American grocery, precisely because it is so undiscriminating. A tightly curated range does some of the thinking for you. A very wide one hands the whole decision back, and the front labels are no help at all — they are the one part of the bottle designed by somebody whose job is to make you pick it up.
So read the back. Establish the grade first, because "Classic" and "Light Tasting" are refined blends and belong to a different job than extra virgin. Then look for the two declarations most bottles skip: a named origin narrower than a continent, and a harvest date. Then look at the packaging and be honest with yourself about how fast you will get through it. That sequence takes about twenty seconds and it sorts the shelf reliably.
If you want the same method in a different aisle, our pieces on Trader Joe's olive oil and on choosing a quality olive oil take it further.
Our cold-pressed organic Marrakech olive oil — single-estate, rain-fed, organically grown, unfiltered extra virgin from one patiently timed harvest — is available to pre-order from the limited first pressing, with fulfilment in the UK, EU, and US.

Pre-Order Sidr & Stone Organic Marrakech Olive Oil — Limited First Harvest →
Disclaimer: This article describes olive oil grades, brand declarations and retail assortments as published at the time of writing; ranges, specifications and certifications change, and readers should check current sources. References to Walmart describe general retail observations and are not affiliated with or endorsed by Walmart. Comparisons are made in good faith and in fair terms. Olive oil is a food, not a medicine, and is not a substitute for medical treatment of any condition. For any health concern, consult a qualified medical professional.